Skip to Main Content

Board of Governors

IIM Shillong is governed by a Board of Governors and is managed by several Executive Committees, including an Institute Management Committee, Finance Committee and a Grievance Committee. The Board of Governors is responsible for overseeing the functioning of the Institute and ensuring it abides with the tenets enshrined in the Articles and Memorandum of Association. This includes ensuring that the Institute working reflects adopted values of:

  • Openness to new ideas and experiences
  • Intellectual Freedom
  • Self experimentation and creative pursuit
  • Adherence to fair, just and ethical practices
  • Compassion

A list of  members of the Board of Governors is given in the paras below.

Chairman of the Board of Governors




Falguni Rajkumar was born in Imphal , Manipur on 1st February, 1949. He is a scion of the erstwhile ruling family of the kingdom. He is the first direct recruit Indian Administrative Service (IAS) Officer from among the Meitei community of Manipur and belongs to the 1972 batch. Rajkumar did his schooling from St. Anthony’s High School, Shillong; graduated with Honours in English Literature from Hindu College, University of Delhi in 1968 and obtained his post graduate degree from the same University in1970.

He also taught for one year in Ramjas College, University of Delhi before getting into the IAS in addition Rajkumar has a Post Graduate degree in Transport Economics from the Institute of Science and Technology, University of Wales, Cardiff in the United Kingdom (UWIST).

Falguni Rajkumar recently retired from the Indian Administrative Services as Secretary of the North Eastern Council, GOI, Shillong, in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India. Rajkumar has worked in the Ministries of Petroleum and Natural Gas and in the Ministry of Defense as Joint Secretary in two separate spells of five year each. He has worked in the State of Karnataka where besides holding various posts he held the post of Additional Chief Secretary-cum-Development Commissioner before he went on deputation to the Government of India, he was Director to the board of management of several companies including Indian Oil Corporation, Hindustan Petroleum, Bharat Petroleum, Cochin Refinery, Madras Refinery, Balmer Lawrie, etc.

Shri Rajkumar worked as Special Advisor of UNIDO, dealing with the Northeast.

Shri Rajkumar has been a well-known sports person in his school and University. He is also a poet and an artist of repute. His wife Smt. Neerja Rajkumar is his batch mate in the IAS from the 1972 batch and served in the rank of Chief Secretary, Government of Karnataka. Their two children are both working in the United States of America.

Members of the Board of Governors

  • NAME
  • Shri Vinay Sheel Oberoi, IAS
  • Secretary Department of Higher Education Ministry of Human Resource Development
  • Smt. Darshana M Dabral
  • Financial Adviser Department of Higher Education Ministry of Human Resource Development
  • Dr Monisha Behal
  • Chairperson North East Network
  • Dr Sanjoy Hazarika
  • Director Centre for North East Studies and Policy Research
  • Prof Vinayshil Gautam
  • (Founder Director: IIM.K; First Head, Management Department: IIT.D)
  • Shri Tarun Das
  • Founding Trustee Aspen Institute India
  • Prof Dinesh Kumar Pandiya
  • Pro- Vice Chancellor Assam University
  • Shri Sabyasachi Hajara
  • Former CMD Shipping Corporation of India
  • Shri K S Kropha, IAS
  • Chief Secretary Govt. of Meghalaya
  • Shri Jagdish Singh, IAS
  • Secretary Education (Higher) Government of Tripura
  • Shri F P Solo, IAS
  • Commissioner and Secretary Higher and Technical Education Government of Nagaland
  • Shri K Lal Nghinglova, IAS
  • Commissioner and Secretary Higher and Technical Education Government of Mizoram
  • Prof Sri Krishna Srivastava
  • Vice Chancellor North Eastern Hill University
  • Prof Amitabha De
  • Director RGIIM Shillong
  • Prof Anil D Sahasrabudhe
  • Chairman AICTE
  • Prof. Gautam Biswas
  • Director Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati,
  • Prof Naliniprava Tripathy
  • Professor & Dean (Research, New Initiatives and External Relations) RGIIM Shillong
  • Prof P Sadarangani
  • Associate Professor RGIIM Shillong
  • Shri. Arjun Malhotra
  • Entrepreneur, Investor